How old do I need to be to be in driver’s education?
You must be at least 14 years, 8 months old on the FIRST day of class to be in driver’s education.
What is the cost for Segment 1?
The cost for Segment 1 is $325
What is involved in Segment 1 drivers training?
Segment 1 consists of 24 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours behind-the-wheel training, and 4 hours of observation while another student is receiving instructions. Each class is 2 hours and generally is held Monday thru Thursday unless otherwise notified. Each drive is 1 hour and observations is also 1 hour.
What if I miss a class?
State law requires 24 hours of classroom instruction If you miss a class you can make it up on a future date when we are covering that lesson.
Can I do extra classes and drives?
Each student is limited to 2 hours of classroom and 1 hour of drive time per day.
What if I am scheduled for a class or drive and the weather is bad?
If the weather is bad, we may reschedule class. We will inform you either by text or email so please check your messages. Instructors will determine if conditions are conducive for instructions. Just because local schools are closed do not assume classes are automatically cancelled. You will still receive a message from Training Day if classes are cancelled.
What happens after I complete Segment 1?
All of the following are requirements of Segment 1:
- 24 hours of classroom
- 6 hours behind-the-wheel training
- 4 hours of observation
- completion of the workbook
- passed the written test
Once these requirements have been met you will receive a Certificate of Completion. You and your parent/guardian will go to the Secretary of State at that time to get the Learner’s Permit
(Level 1 License).
When applying for an original Michigan driver’s license or state identification card (license fees), you must present documentation of:
- A valid Social Security number or proof of ineligibility.
- Legal presence in the U.S.
- Michigan residency (at least two documents are required)
What if I am over 18?
You can still choose take a Segment 1 class if you would like. You would receive the same instructions as the students under 18. Adult are not required to take driver’s education classes. You are required to go to the Secretary of State and get a Temporary Instruction Permit. Additionally, you can just do behind-the-wheel training which is charged on an hourly basis. We can structure a plan to fit your needs once you obtain your Temporary Instruction Permit.
What is the cost for Adult Drives?
Adults who choose to only take driving instructions only the cost is $50.00 per hour.
What is the cost for Segment 2?
Segment 2 is $50 and must be paid on the first night of class in cash.
When do I need to sign up for Segment 2?
You must complete 30 hours of driving before you can scheduling your class. Make sure you are scheduling the class for at least 3 months past when you received your Learner’s Permit (Level 1 License) from the Secretary of State. Your 3 months does not begin until you get your permit.
How can I tell what date I received my Level 1 License?
Look for the very first 8-digit number on the left-hand side of the license at the very top. This 8-digit number is the date the Level 1 License was issued.
How long is Segment 2?
Segment 2 is 6 hours in the classroom done over 3 days, 2 hours each day. There is no driving in Segment 2.
What happens after Segment 2?
Once you have finished the class and passed the written test, you will receive a Segment 2 Certificate of Completion.
When and where can I take my road test?
Once you’ve had your Level 1 License for at least 6 months, driven 50 hours at least 10 of those at night, and taken Segment 2, you are then eligible for the road test. You do not need to be 16 to take the road test. The certificate you receive when you pass your road test is good for one year. Road tests are available through other schools such as; Unique Driving Testers is in Grand Blanc or by searching for driving testers in my area.
What if I need more behind-the-wheel training for the road test?
We offer one-on-one behind-the-wheel training at a cost of $25/Hour for students who have completed Segment 1 with Training Day Drivers Academy.
When can I get my license?
Once you have passed your road test and turned 16 you can get your license.
If you have further questions please email us at: firstname.lastname@example.org or call (810) 610-6194